Green Tone Bits

What's this green stuff?

Here are some clues: it has nothing to do with envy, the environment or M&M's candies.


Born in February 2009, Green Tone Bits are MP3Jing sessions that aim to expose and share some of the finest free digital music, mostly released by Netlabels and/or under Creative Commons licenses.

Presented by Dinis Correia and Ricardo Mestre (Pseudónimo + Dusk at the Mansion), each Green Tone Bits session covers various music genres (featuring artists from all over the globe), but generally electronic music is the theme.

To know when – and where – the next Green Tone Bits takes place, do check the When page. Also, follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to keep up with all the juicy news.

Entrance is free for all Green Tone Bits sessions.


Some say that free music is the future of the music industry. But why wait for the future when thousands of artists are already making their music available for free?

Free netaudio / netlabel music should also be heard offline. It should be played everywhere.

And really, aren’t the good things in life supposed to be free?


The playlist for each session will be published shortly after on the Downloads page. Make sure to visit our website or subscribe to our RSS feed.

If for some reason you can’t make it to the sessions – oh, shame on you! – you can still listen live to the sets from the comfort of your own computer, tablet or phone: follow us on Mixlr.

Website sparks

This website was designed and developed by Dinis Correia and Ricardo Mestre; it’s not a theme.

It uses HTML5 for markup, CSS3 for presentational elements and the open-source jQuery Javascript library for the magic tricks.

All pages on this site are edited in and maintained by WordPress, an open-source content management system.

The beautiful sans-serif Aller Sans, designed by the Dalton Maag design team, is the typeface used both in the logo design and all over this website. It is available for free use and download (you can get it here).


Except where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.


Special thanks (alphabetical order)

Alexandre Solleiro, António Almada Guerra, Bruno Vilão, Carla Costa, David Costa, Jan van Bruggen, João Campos, Leonardo Xavier, Luís Abreu, Nuno Campos and Quodis.

Drop us a line